Historic Walking Tours of Narragansett Pier

Tours Maps Treasures Architectural Glossary

Historic Cottages of Narragansett Pier

Links to photos of and information about many of the Pier's classic cottages.

Central Street Historic District

pxCentralStreetlookingeastfromImperialHotelppl











Central Street, platted in 1867 but largely undeveloped, was the site of muchbuilding activityin the
1880s and 1890s. The newer houses – large Stick Style, Shingle Style,Queen Anne, and "Colonial"
dwellings with quaint names such as Shingle-nook, Homeleigh,Sonnenschein, and Tyn-y-coed –
were set back from the street on large landscapedlots anddiffered in size and scale from the more
modest bracketed and Stick Style cottages of the 1860sand 1870s.

Some of these were built by summer residents for their own use, while others were constructed
for rental —many of the people who summered at Narragansett did not maintain their own
summer residences. This contributed to the continuing popularity of hotels, and prompted the
development of numerous rental properties. For example, Nancy K. Bishop of Providence built
four houses on Central Street between 1884 and 1886; she retained one for herself and rented
the others seasonally. The structures standing on Central Street are of great historical importance,
for they illustrate successive phases in the Pier's evolution as a summer resort.

FromHistorical and Architectural Resources of Narragansett,1991


Cottages:Homeleigh, Idlewild, La Sata, Linger Long,
Metatoxet House,Sansea/Stones Throw, Seacroft, Shingle-nook,
Sonnenschein,Starr Cottage, Sunnymead, Tyn-y-Coed,Willow,
Windemere, Yellow Patch


The Towers Historic District

pxthetowerspdfscan

















The smallest of the four historic districts in Narragansett Pier includes The Towers,probably the
most recognizable structure inRhode Island, plus several historic cottagesand such iconic
buildings as the Coast Guard House (formerlythe U.S. Lifesaving Station) and the Reading Room.
The Towers Historic District was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.

Cottages:GeorgeBrown House, High Tide, Hopewell,
Miramar,Ninigret


Earlscourt Area

















Earlescourt was built in 1886-87 for Edward Earle, a New York lawyer. It consisted of four large
Late Victorian cottages on the south side of the Earles Court road, along with an ornate water
tower set in the middle of the road. The tower had a wooden superstructure which included a
balcony incorporating a giant wooden griffin. The superstructure was destroyed in a gale but is
due to be restored. Only two of the cottages remain, and one of them is substantially modified.

The historic district includes an adjacent development, the Louis Sherry cottages, built around
1889 for the famed New York restaurateur and caterer who managed the Narragansett Casino.
The cottages are a group of
similarly designed Shingle Style cottages arranged symmetrically
around a grassy court, known as Kentara Green, opposite the head of the Earlscourt road. The
symmetry was broken a few years ago by the addition of a new structure on the Green. The
development originally included two more houses and a central restaurant-dining hall, none of
which remain.

Off Gibson Avenue, just to the north of these developments,at what is now known as Gibson
Court, was another planned development. Only one house, Gardencourt, was built, in 1888
and it has been extensively modified.

We have included three nearby structures of historic interest that were not included in the
Earlscourt district: Druids Dream on Gibson Avenue to the south, and the H.F. Kenyon House,
and Four Gables, both on South Pier Road between Gibson Avenue and Ocean Avenue.

Cottages:Druids Dream, Earle-Caldwell House, Four Gables,
H. F.Kenyon House,Louis
Sherry Cottages



Ocean Road Historic District (& South)

















The Ocean Road Historic District consists mainly of a handsome group of large, Late Victorian
summer mansions set along the rocky shoreline of the Atlantic.

Development of the area was precipitated by the opening of Ocean Road in 1882, although some
of the structures date from an earlier period. One of these, Hazard’s Castle, was begun in 1846
and was originally reached by a long driveway from Point Judith Road. This house was not
completed, however, until 1884, when the tall stone tower at the eastern end of the complex, one
of the town’s most important landmarks, was finished other additions have been made to this
building in the 20th century.

Most of the other structures here were built between 1882 and 1891 as summer homes for wealthy
out-of-town residents. These grand houses, with their spacious, well kept grounds, form a cohesive
historical and architectural fabric worthy of preservation.

Cottages: Gillian Lodge, Indian Rock, Over Cliff, Rose Lea,Stone Croft,
Stone Lea, Suwanee Villa Carriage House,Turnberry


Cottages and their districts, alphabetically

1 = Central Street
2 = The Towers
3 = Earlscourt
4 = Ocean Road

Druids Dream 3

Earle-Caldwell House 3

George Brown House 2

Gillian Lodge 4

H. F. Kenyon House 3

High Tide 2

Homeleigh 1

Hopewell 2

Idlewild 1

Indian Rock 4

La Sata 1

Linger Long 1

Louis Sherry Cottages 3

Metatoxet House 1

Miramar 2

Ninigret 2

Over Cliff 4

Rose Lea 4

Sansea/Stones Throw 1

Seacroft 1

Shingle-nook 1

Sonnenschein 1

Starr Cottage 1

Stone Croft 4

Stone Lea 4

Sunnymead 1

Suwanee Villa Carriage House 4

Turnberry 4

Tyn-y-Coed 1

Willow 1

Windemere 1

Yellow Patch 1


SCM 2011-2018