Historic Walking Tours of Narragansett Pier

Cottages

comp gbrown

Left: Historical and Architectural Resources of Narragansett, 1991 Right: SCM photo-jrt 2010

George Brown House
16 Mathewson Street

Architectural Description

21/2-story, gable-roofed dwelling with a gabled elI on the south side, a center chimney, a Shingle
Style porch, and a
Federal doorway with sidelights, surmounted by an entablature with consoles.

Year Built

1822

Comments

This house has a unique history, according to the 1991 historical survey:

Shortly after 1780, John Robinson built a pier near the present site of the Towers to provide local
farmers with a more convenient means of exporting and importing goods. It is to this wharf that
Narragansett Pier owes its name. By 1801, when Robinson’s son, Benjamin, inherited the property,
a house and a store had also been built here.

The pier was destroyed in the Great Gale of 1815 and was rebuilt by Rowland Hazard, who had
purchased it from Robinson five years earlier. The property changed hands two or three times,
finally coming into the possession of George Brown in 1822. At that time, Brown built a house on
the site later occupied by the old Casino. This is probably the house which now stands at 18
Mathewson Street, moved to its present location.

Once known as the Wagon Wheel, the house originally was located opposite the North Pier and
later moved to the site of Pier Pharmacy at 14 Mathewson Street. In about 1890 it was again
moved, this time one lot south to its present site, and turned 90 degrees. In 1895, it was Cottage
3 of the Narragansett Casino.


SCM 2011-2018